Skip to main content

January 2020

Elmgreen & Dragset Announced as Recipient of the 29th B.Z. Culture Prize

Awarded Artist: Elmgreen & Dragset (엘름그린&드라그셋)
Award Institution: Berliner Zeitung (베를리너 차이퉁)

The artist duo Elmgreen & Dragset has been announced as the recipient of the bronze B.Z. Bear Award at the 29th B.Z. Culture Prize (hereafter the Prize). The Prize, brought together annually by Berlin’s largest media outlet Berliner Zeitung (hereafter B.Z.), honors people across a diverse range of fields including art, music, performance, film, and literature, whose works have made an artistic impact on society. Since 1992, luminaries of the arts and culture sector such as Wolfgang Tillmans, Jeff Koons, and Karl Lagerfeld have been amongst the winners. This year, the Prize was awarded to a roster of eight individuals and teams including Elmgreen & Dragset, actor August Diehl, film director and screenwriter Christian Petzold, and violinist David Garrett.

Elmgreen & Dragset raise attention to the social clichés and cultural structures pervasive in everyday life, introducing works which reinvent these ideas with their signature humor and poignant sarcasm. In regards to the Prize, Miriam Krekel, the editor-in-chief of B.Z., remarked, “Today we have the honor of honoring people whose artistic work has [made] an impact on our society far beyond the borders of Berlin… And because they dare to be different, to think differently – and to act differently. Our award winners have the courage to question things.” On January 28, 2020, a gala show was held at the Haus der Berliner Festspiele, where guests from culture, politics, and the media honored and celebrated the recipients of the Prize.

엘름그린 & 드라그셋(Elmgreen & Dragset), 제29회 B.Z. Culture Prize 수상
아티스트 듀오 엘름그린 & 드라그셋(Elmgreen & Dragset)이 제29회 B.Z. Culture Award의 Bronze Bear 수상자로 선정되었다. 독일 언론사 베를리너 차이퉁(Berliner Zeitung)이 주관하는 이 상은 매년 미술, 음악, 퍼포먼스, 영화, 도서 등 다양한 분야에서 활동하며 세상에 예술적 영감을 선사한 인물들에게 수여된다. 1992년을 시작으로 볼프강 틸만스(Wolfgang Tillmans), 제프 쿤스(Jeff Koons), 칼 라거펠트(Karl Lagerfeld) 등 문화예술계 인사들이 이 상을 수상한 바 있다. 올해는 엘름그린 & 드라그셋을 비롯해 영화배우 오거스트 딜(August Diehl), 영화감독 크리스티안 펫졸드(Christian Petzold), 바이올리니스트 데이비드 가렛(David Garrett) 등 8인(팀)이 함께 수상자로 선정되었다.

엘름그린 & 드라그셋은 일상에 만연한 사회적 클리셰와 문화 구조에 질문을 제기하고, 이를 특유의 위트와 비판정신으로 재해석하는 작업을 전개해왔다. 베를리너 차이퉁의 수석 에디터 미리암 크레켈(Miriam Krekel)는 “베를린을 넘어 전세계에 영향을 미치는 예술인들에게 이 상을 수상하게 되어 영광이다. 그들은 다르게 생각하고, 다르게 행동한다. 우리 수상자들은 항상 의문을 제기하고 기꺼이 답을 찾고자 한다.”라고 선정 이유를 밝혔다. 지난 1월 28일 베를리너 페스트슈필레(Haus der Berliner Festspiele)에서는 시상식과 함께 이번 상의 의미를 공유하고 축하하는 갈라쇼가 열렸다.

[Source from B.Z. Culture Prize press release]