Skip to main content

December 2019

Byron Kim Announced as the 2019 Recipient of the Robert De Niro, Sr. Prize

Awarded Artist: Byron Kim (바이런 킴)
Award Organisation: Tribeca Film Institute (트라이베카영화협회)

The contemporary artist Byron Kim is the 2019 recipient of the esteemed Robert De Niro, Sr. Prize. Established in 2011 by Robert De Niro, Jr. in honor of his late father, the accomplished painter Robert De Niro, Sr., the prize recognizes a mid-career American artist for their significant and innovative contributions to the field of painting with a $25,000 merit-based prize. Byron Kim is the eighth artist to have received this prize following the Stanley Whitney (2011), Joyce Pensato (2012), Catherine Murphy (2013), Robert Bordo (2014), Laura Owens (2015), R.H. Quaytman (2016), and Henry Taylor (2018).

Byron Kim’s work captures the everyday subject and scenery while balancing formal ingenuity with conceptual sophistication. Kim is widely known for his Sunday Paintings, to which the artist has been committing himself to a single painting of the sky every Sunday on a uniform 35.5 x 35.5 cm canvas since 2001. Byron Kim has been exploring intrinsic spirituality through the mundane and profound details of the everyday. William S. Smith, part of the Robert De Niro Sr. Prize selection committee and Editor of Art in America, remarked, “Byron Kim demonstrates how a minimalist visual vocabulary can be maximally affecting. His paintings reflect his careful attention to the subtleties of color, surface, and light while simultaneously demonstrating the medium’s ability to facilitate everything from broad social engagement to deeply personal rumination.” Kim is currently the subject of a solo exhibition titled Byron Kim: The Sunday Paintings at Museum of Contemporary Art Cleveland, USA, through January 5, 2020.

바이런 킴(Byron Kim), 2019년 로버트 드 니로 시니어상 수상
현대미술가 바이런 킴이 2019년 로버트 드 니로 시니어상(Robert De Niro Sr. Prize) 수상자로 선정되었다. 이 상은 세계적인 화가 로버트 드 니로 시니어를 기리기 위해 그의 아들인 배우 로버트 드 니로가 2011년 처음 제정한 상으로, 매년 회화 분야에 공헌한 미국 중견 작가 한 명을 선정하여 상금 2만 5천달러를 수여한다. 바이런 킴은 스탠리 휘트니(Stanley Whitney), 조이스 펜사토(Joyce Pensato), 캐서린 머피(Catherine Murphy), 로버트 보르도(Robert Bordo), 로라 오웬스(Laura Owens), R.H. 쿠에이트만(R.H. Quaytman), 헨리 테일러(Henry Taylor)에 이은 8번째 수상 작가다.

일상적인 소재와 풍경을 구상과 추상을 넘나드는 특유의 조형언어로 표현해온 바이런 킴은 2001년부터 현재까지 매주 일요일 그날의 하늘을 동일한 크기의 소형 캔버스(35.5 x 35.5 cm)에 그린 <Sunday Paintings>연작으로 잘 알려져 있다. 작가는 일상적인 소재를 통해 본질적이고 큰 그림의 ‘삶’을 그려내는 고유한 회화 세계를 구축해왔다. 심사위원인 아트 인 아메리카 에디터 윌리엄 스미스(William S. Smith)는 “바이런 킴은 미니멀한 시각적 어휘가 어떻게 보다 큰 주제를 표현할 수 있는지 보여주는 작가다. 그의 작품은 색, 표면, 그리고 빛의 미묘함에 주의를 기울이는 동시에 개인적 성찰에서 사회적 관여에 이르기까지 넓은 영역의 주제를 포괄한다.”며 선정 이유를 밝혔다. 한편 바이런 킴은 현재 미국 클리브랜드 현대미술관에서 개인전 《Byron Kim: The Sunday Paintings》(2020년 1월 5일까지)를 진행 중이다.

[Source from the official statement issued by The Estate of Robert De Niro Sr.]